Connect with us


Zardari is now President  while Bilawal Chairman PPPP!




KARACHI (8 Jan., 2017): Asif Ali Zardari and Bilawal Bhutto Zardari have been elected unopposed President and Chairman respectively for four years.

Polls for office bearers were  conducted by the election body – comprising convener Farooq H. Naek, and members Taj Haider & Sardar Ali Khan – here at Bilawal House. 

Continue Reading


Citizen’s Charter for Police Reforms released!



Edited by: M. M. ALAM

KARACHI: At a Presser held here Citizen’s Charter for Police Reforms was handed over to the IG SIndh Police, A. D. Khawaja, by various civil rights groups. 

Those who addressed the Press Conference included among others Nazim F. Haji (Citizens Trust against Crimes), Karamat Ali (Pakistan Institute of Labour Education and Research – PILER), Khateeb Ahmed (Shehri CBE), Liaquat Sahi (National Labour Council), Sheema Kirmani (Tahreek-e-Niswan), Nuzhat Shireen (Chairperson Sindh Commission on Status of Women) and others.

Speakers told that the Citizen’s Charter for Police Reforms is divided into two sets of demands from IGP – for the common citizens and for the police personnel.

The Charter is penned down after a lengthy process of consultations just after the landmark decision of Sindh High Court (SHC) regarding police reforms, under which the IGP has been asked to make necessary changes in police department according to the relevant law, that is, Police Act 1861.

It has been informed that para 102 of the SHC decision states: “We would also like to emphasize that in this judgment we have touched upon only some aspects of the very many problems relating to policing, the police force and the law and order situation.

“The reform of the police force, the revival of proper and effective policing, the regaining and restoration of law and order, and the enforcement of fundamental rights in the fullest sense is an on-going exercise and a work-in-progress.

“The problems and issues are many, and may need to be treated again in fresh petitions and other proceedings. However, even if this judgment proves to be but one link in that chain, it is hopefully a step in the right direction (if we may mix metaphors a bit).”

The Charter demands that a Provincial Public Safety Commission/Ombudsman should be established. The Human Rights Cell (established under Standing Order 235/2009) should be activated in each district, it should issue monthly reports (especial focus on extra judicial killing and enforced disappearances), citizens (minimum 5 citizens) be made members of the cell.

Another demand from the citizens included e-filing for launching of complaint be allowed and a reference number be issued to the complainants.

All investigations should be conducted in a transparent and efficient manner and all funds allocated should be made available to IOs, who should be made accountable.

Foot patrolling and women and minorities should be inducted in the police force at all levels, as per the 5 % quota allocated to them under the Law. Every citizen arrested has a right to dignity and privacy under the Constitution. Conditions of lock ups including sanitary services should be improved.

Assets of Police officers and inquiries and their results against police officers should be posted on the police website.

A special unit should be created to monitor the progress in all cases relating to complaints of violence against women, children and minorities.

Security should be provided to the Minorities’ places of worship by the police officers belonging to the same minority. As per the Supreme Court Judgment of Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jillani, regarding the safety of the Minorities’ Places of worship. (PLD 2014 SC 699).

A set of recommendations has been prepared for taking measures for welfare of police personnel. A demand said police budget for each police station should be put on Police Website.

Issues regarding the Annual Confidential Report (ACR) should be addressed, as police officers take little or no interest in writing the ACRs of their subordinates. Delayed ACRs bring down morale.

Retired police personnel and the families of martyred Police should be paid with their dues ontime. Living conditions of police personnel be at par with other government service departments. Working conditions of police personnel should be brought in conformity with Pakistan’s Law and International Standards.

Dignity of police personnel and their families should be established; i.e. access to education, healthcare for their families and decent living; all police personnel injured should have access to the best healthcare as is available to armed forces.All police personnel should undergo regular medical check ups.

Promote the concept of community policing at police station level. Performance of the community policing will be part of ACR of SHO.

Besides this a “bridge” demand is also made which asks for holding an annual public recognition of outstanding police personnel at an annual police-citizens function, which should become an important date/event in the social calendar of Sindh.


Continue Reading


The unsolved mystery of serial stabber: Another woman stabbed in Malir!



MALIR: Another woman has reportedly been stabbed with a sharp object by a motorcycle rider here today evening (19th of October, 2017).

Viewers may recall that from 25th of September till 5th of October thirteen cases of knife attacks by a lone motorcycle rider had been reported to the police in Gulistan-e-Jauhar and Gulshan-e-Iqbal areas of the Metropolis. 

But so far police and other agencies have failed to identify and nab the culprit.

Latest theory presented by the LEAs is that some Blue Whale players are carrying out these stabbings!  

Continue Reading


Promises made by ousted Sharif would be fulfilled: PM Abbasi!



KARACHI: Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has assured Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) that the promises made by the deposed PM Sharif would be fulfilled.

Talking to a MQM-P delegation led by Dr. Farooq Sattar here at the Governor House today the PM said: “The government had approved a development package for Karachi and funds would be released by the end of the ongoing month”.

Hyderabad package was also discussed during the meeting.

PM has asked the interior minister to review MQM-P’s reservations apropos the arrests of its workers. He instructed to make sure that the cases were handled in a fair manner.  

During the meeting that were held in a cordial atmosphere PM and the MQM-P agreed upon burying the difference in order to support democracy.

Continue Reading